Tag: crime fiction

The Fields (Riley Fisher #1) by Erin Young

A breakneck procedural that is beautifully written and masterfully crafted, Erin Young’s The Fields is a dynamite debut—crime fiction at its very finest. Some things don’t stay buried. It starts with a body—a young woman found dead in an Iowa cornfield, on one of the few family farms still managing to compete with the giants of Big Agriculture. When Sergeant Riley Fisher, newly promoted … Read More The Fields (Riley Fisher #1) by Erin Young

The Beach House by Beverley Jones

Published in paperback 21st April 2022! The perfect place to hide. Or so she thought . . . When Grace Jensen returns to her home in Lookout Beach one day, she finds a body in a pool of blood and a menacing gift left for her. The community of Lookout Beach is shocked by such a brutal intrusion in their close-knit neighbourhood – particularly … Read More The Beach House by Beverley Jones

No Less The Devil by Stuart McBride

‘We are each our own devil, and we make this world our hell.’ It’s been seventeen months since the Bloodsmith butchered his first victim and Operation Maypole is still no nearer to catching him. The media is whipping up a storm, the top brass are demanding results, but the investigation is sinking fast. Now isn’t the time to get distracted with other cases, but … Read More No Less The Devil by Stuart McBride

Date With Betrayal by Julia Chapman

In the seventh novel in Julia Chapman’s Dales Detective series, Date with Betrayal, betrayal is rife in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales as Samson O’Brien, owner of the Dales Detective Agency, is targeted by a hitman. Can Bruncliffe save him? A brilliantly engaging and witty mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series. #DateWithBetrayal #DalesDetective … Read More Date With Betrayal by Julia Chapman

The Woman Who Knew Faces (Karen Thorpe series #3) by Jane Badrock

One tenacious cop, one amazing artist. There’s a big operation underway and DS Karen Thorpe is feeling left out. Then she meets Emma, with the ability to memorise faces, and Karen’s re-energised with her potential crime-solving contribution. But she’s not the only one. #TheWomanWhoKnewFaces @janebadrock @QuestionPress @Zooloo’s Book Tours @zooloo2008 #ZooloosBookTours #blogtour A body turns up and Karen is finally called up to work with the Met. But Emma’s … Read More The Woman Who Knew Faces (Karen Thorpe series #3) by Jane Badrock

My Top 8 Books of 2022 – part one

Here are my favourite eight books of the first quarter of 2022. So far I’ve read some good books.  Tapestry by Beth Duke “We’re all part of a tapestry bigger than any of us can imagine, weaving in and out and creating a glorious picture. All of us from the beginning of time.” What a lovely thought. My brother had his DNA done and assuming … Read More My Top 8 Books of 2022 – part one

The Lake Templeton Murders by HS Burnley

An edge-of-your seat murder mystery set in a forgotten, ocean-facing town on Vancouver Island! A body washes up on the shores of Lake Templeton, a small town on the coast of Vancouver Island. Sharon Reese, the victim, was a dedicated government employee. Everyone liked her, but no one knew much about her. Was she hiding something? Maybe a questionable past riddled with scandal. And did … Read More The Lake Templeton Murders by HS Burnley

No Way Back (Shannon Ames, #5) by TJ Brearton

She must uncover the truth. Or a young woman dies. A quiet Manhattan street. Kristie Fain is walking to the train when she is snatched by a couple of strangers. Special Agent Shannon Ames has just been reassigned to the New York Field Office, the biggest in the country. Since Kristie Fain is an aide to a US Senator, Shannon and her FBI team … Read More No Way Back (Shannon Ames, #5) by TJ Brearton

The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley

Welcome to No.12 Rue des Amants: a beautiful old apartment block, far from the glittering lights of the Eiffel Tower and the bustling banks of the Seine. Where nothing goes unseen, and everyone has a story to unlock. The watchful conciergeThe scorned loverThe prying journalistThe naïve studentThe unwanted guest #TheParisApartment @luceyfoleytweets @fictionpubteam Instagram: @luceyfoleyauthor #RandomThingsTours @annecater @RandomTTours #blogtour Something terrible happened here last night. A mystery lies … Read More The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley

Shaking Hands With The Devil by Bryan J Mason

‘WE ARE ON THIS CASE LIKE A BONER FIDO BLOODHOUND…AND MY MEN ARE BARKING AT THE LEASH’ In this darkly comic novel, Clifton Gentle is an ordinary man without much to distinguish him. Not much, that is, apart from being a serial killer who is leaving bits of his young male victims scattered around North London.  #ShakingHandsWithTheDevil @BryanJMason @Zooloo’s Book Tours @zooloo2008 #ZooloosBookTours #blogtour DCI Dave Hicks … Read More Shaking Hands With The Devil by Bryan J Mason

Reputation by Sarah Vaughan

The bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal—soon to be a Netflix series—returns with a new psychological thriller about a politician whose less-than-perfect personal life is thrust into the spotlight when a body is discovered in her home. As a politician, Emma has sacrificed a great deal for her career—including her marriage and her relationship with her daughter, Flora. A former teacher, the glare of … Read More Reputation by Sarah Vaughan

The Killing Kind by Jane Casey

He tells you you’re special…As a barrister, Ingrid Lewis is used to dealing with tricky clients, but no one has ever come close to John Webster. After Ingrid defended Webster against a stalking charge, he then turned on her – following her, ruining her relationship, even destroying her home. He tells you he wants to protect you…Now, Ingrid believes she has finally escaped his clutches. … Read More The Killing Kind by Jane Casey