Tag: community

Date With Betrayal by Julia Chapman

In the seventh novel in Julia Chapman’s Dales Detective series, Date with Betrayal, betrayal is rife in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales as Samson O’Brien, owner of the Dales Detective Agency, is targeted by a hitman. Can Bruncliffe save him? A brilliantly engaging and witty mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series. #DateWithBetrayal #DalesDetective … Read More Date With Betrayal by Julia Chapman

My Top 8 Books of 2022 – part one

Here are my favourite eight books of the first quarter of 2022. So far I’ve read some good books.  Tapestry by Beth Duke “We’re all part of a tapestry bigger than any of us can imagine, weaving in and out and creating a glorious picture. All of us from the beginning of time.” What a lovely thought. My brother had his DNA done and assuming … Read More My Top 8 Books of 2022 – part one

The Lake Templeton Murders by HS Burnley

An edge-of-your seat murder mystery set in a forgotten, ocean-facing town on Vancouver Island! A body washes up on the shores of Lake Templeton, a small town on the coast of Vancouver Island. Sharon Reese, the victim, was a dedicated government employee. Everyone liked her, but no one knew much about her. Was she hiding something? Maybe a questionable past riddled with scandal. And did … Read More The Lake Templeton Murders by HS Burnley

Entitled by Gill Merton

In 1971, Nan Douglas and her toddler twins arrive on the remote island of Inniscuiilin, long-lost family of the eccentric Miss Campbell.  For fifteen years they all live quietly up at the Big House, until the twins start planning their future – forcing Nan to confront their past… Because someone, somewhere believes that the twins aren’t twins. That they’re not even Nan’s children. And … Read More Entitled by Gill Merton

Hands of Gold by Roni Robbins

Will Sam purge his guilty conscience before it’s too late? Will he atone for his offences and find solace in the final countdown? Sam Fox spent his whole life running against the hands of time. He is now racing to set the record straight about secrets he and Hannah, his wife of 65 years, have been harbouring from their children and each other. #HandsofGold … Read More Hands of Gold by Roni Robbins

Little Wing by Freya North

Little Wing is the powerful story of two families over three generations. In the 1960s, a pregnant 16-year-old is banished to one of the remotest parts of the UK. Years later, Nell and Dougie are both at critical moments in their lives when their paths cross. Between Camden, Colchester and the Outer Hebrides, the three story lines collide when secrets are uncovered and answers … Read More Little Wing by Freya North

I Know What You’ve Done by Dorothy Koomson

What if all your neighbours’ secrets landed in a diary on your doorstep?What if the woman who gave it to you was murdered by one of the people in the diary? What if the police asked if you knew anything? Would you hand over the book of secrets? Or … would you try to find out what everyone had done? I Know What You’ve … Read More I Know What You’ve Done by Dorothy Koomson

The Every (The Circle #2) by Dave Eggers

When the world’s largest search engine/social media company, the Circle, merges with the planet’s dominant e-commerce site, it creates the richest and most dangerous–and, oddly enough, most beloved–monopoly ever known: the Every. Delaney Wells is an unlikely new hire at the Every. A former forest ranger and unwavering tech skeptic, she charms her way into an entry-level job with one goal in mind: to … Read More The Every (The Circle #2) by Dave Eggers

The Lighthouse Witches by CJ Cooke

Upon the cliffs of a remote Scottish island, Lòn Haven, stands a lighthouse.A lighthouse that has weathered more than storms. Mysterious and terrible events have happened on this island. It started with a witch hunt. Now, centuries later, islanders are vanishing without explanation. Coincidence? Or curse? #TheLighthouseWitches #blogtour @CJessCooke @annecater @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours Liv Stay flees to the island with her three daughters, in search of … Read More The Lighthouse Witches by CJ Cooke

Freckles by Cecelia Ahern

You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with… When a stranger utters these words to Allegra Bird, nicknamed Freckles, it turns her highly ordered life upside down. In her current life as a parking warden, she has left her eccentric father and unconventional childhood behind for a bold new life in the city. #Freckles @Cecelia_Ahern @fictionpubteam @annecater @RandomTTours #RandomThingsTours But … Read More Freckles by Cecelia Ahern

The Beloved Girls by Harriet Evans

‘It’s a funny old house. They have this ceremony every summer . . . There’s an old chapel, in the grounds of the house. Half-derelict. The Hunters keep bees in there. Every year, on the same day, the family processes to the chapel. They open the combs, taste the honey. Take it back to the house. Half for them -‘ my father winced, as … Read More The Beloved Girls by Harriet Evans

We Need To Talk by Jonathan Crane

It’s 2019 in Sudleigh, a market town not far from the south coast. It’s not a bad place to live, provided the new housing development doesn’t ruin it, but most residents are too caught up in their own disappointments, grudges, and sores to notice. #WeNeedToTalk @jon_crane24 @EyeAndLightning @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours Gap-year Tom is cleaning toilets but finding unexpected solace in his Chinese house-share. Former lounge musician … Read More We Need To Talk by Jonathan Crane