Tag: friendship

The Beautiful Ones by Julia Sutton

Caitlyn Shaw has it all. Surrounded by loving friends and family, she is excited to begin her training to become a primary school teacher.  Her dream job, one which she’s been working steadily towards her whole life.   However in 2008 things start to go wrong.  After suffering a traumatic event, Caitlyn’s idyllic life is shattered.  She finds herself spiralling into an abyss of mental terror … Read More The Beautiful Ones by Julia Sutton

The Shadow Child by Rachel Hancox

Eighteen-year-old Emma has loving parents and a promising future ahead of her. So why, one morning, does she leave home without a trace? Her parents, Cath and Jim, are devastated. They have no idea why Emma left, where she is – or even whether she is still alive. A year later, Cath and Jim are still tormented by the unanswered questions Emma left behind … Read More The Shadow Child by Rachel Hancox

Lost Property by Helen Paris

One lost purse. One lost woman.A chance encounter that changes everything. Dot Watson has lost her way. Wracked with guilt and struggling with grief, she has tucked herself away in the London Transport Lost Property office, finding solace in the process of cataloguing misplaced things. It’s not glamorous or exciting, but it’s solitary – just the way Dot likes it. #LostPropertyBook @drhelenparis @DoubleDayUK #RandomThingsTours @annecater @RandomTTours #blogtour That … Read More Lost Property by Helen Paris

A Man Of Understanding by Diana Janney

It takes a man of understanding to rebuild a shattered soul, a man with a deep and learned grasp of philosophy and poetry, a man who can nurture and inspire an enquiring mind, a man with the wit and humour to bring the world alive.  That enigmatic man is Horatio Hennessy. His grandson Blue is that shattered soul.  #AManOfUnderstanding #DianaJanney @RKbookpublicist #RandomThingsTours @annecater @RandomTTours #blogtour Following the death of twelve-year-old … Read More A Man Of Understanding by Diana Janney

George Bunce and The Black Wave of Fear by Martin Geraghty

Meet George, a resident at the Four Seasons care home in a Scottish seaside town.Meet Carrie, an occupational therapist at the Four Seasons care home.Join them as they form an unlikely friendship.Immerse yourself in their story as they discover second chances in life.Cheer for them as they find laughter in the face of adversity.Support them as they both finally learn to bury the ghosts … Read More George Bunce and The Black Wave of Fear by Martin Geraghty

Broken by Anna Legat

What if you lost the memory of who you are? What if you had to pick up the loose ends of life that wasn’t yours? What if you had to fight somebody else’s battles? What would YOU do ? Camilla’s life will never be the same after her beloved son Christopher is sent to prison. Father Joseph’s faith is sorely tested when a deranged … Read More Broken by Anna Legat

Tunnel Of Mirrors by Ferne Arfin

June 1907. Rachel Isaacson, a spirit child, is born into a large and rigidly orthodox Jewish family in the Lower East Side. Hungry for freedom, dominated by a tyrannical father and haunted by inexplicable visions and voices, Rachel’s quest for independence leads her into a marriage of convenience with tragic consequences. Across the Atlantic, Ciaran McMurrough, storyteller, fiddler and cliff climber, leads a life … Read More Tunnel Of Mirrors by Ferne Arfin

Date With Betrayal by Julia Chapman

In the seventh novel in Julia Chapman’s Dales Detective series, Date with Betrayal, betrayal is rife in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales as Samson O’Brien, owner of the Dales Detective Agency, is targeted by a hitman. Can Bruncliffe save him? A brilliantly engaging and witty mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series. #DateWithBetrayal #DalesDetective … Read More Date With Betrayal by Julia Chapman

The Trial of Lotta Rae by Siobhan MacGowan

Set in suffragette London. Lotta Rae is a working-class 15-year-old, raped by a wealthy gentleman, who makes the brave decision to testify in court. William Lindon is a barrister about to lose everything. Both have decisions to make that will change the course of their lives and the lives of everyone around them for generations to come. Atmospheric historical novel set in 20th-century Suffragette … Read More The Trial of Lotta Rae by Siobhan MacGowan

My Top 8 Books of 2022 – part one

Here are my favourite eight books of the first quarter of 2022. So far I’ve read some good books.  Tapestry by Beth Duke “We’re all part of a tapestry bigger than any of us can imagine, weaving in and out and creating a glorious picture. All of us from the beginning of time.” What a lovely thought. My brother had his DNA done and assuming … Read More My Top 8 Books of 2022 – part one

Karma and the Art of Butter Chicken by Monica Bhide

Raised by Buddhist monks in Delhi after his mother’s untimely and tragic death, Eshaan sets out on the challenging quest to feed and nourish the hungry so they do not suffer her same fate. His attempts to achieve this monumental goal are constantly thwarted. And when his former girlfriend returns from Europe with a handsome fiancé in tow, his life becomes even more complicated. … Read More Karma and the Art of Butter Chicken by Monica Bhide

Twelve Secrets by Robert Gold

Ben Harper, true crime journalist, is about to unravel his most shocking story yet . . . his own. The day his older brother was murdered was the day Ben Harper’s life changed forever. In one of the most shocking crimes in national history, Nick and his friend were stabbed to death by two girls their own age. Police called the killings random, a … Read More Twelve Secrets by Robert Gold