Someone is watching…. No one is safe

The once tranquil woods in a picturesque part of Lenchester have become the bloody stage to a series of ritualistic murders. With no suspects, Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker is once again forced to call on the services of forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish.

#RitualDemise #CavendishandWalker @SallyRigby4 @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours @damppebbles on Instagram and @damppebblesblogtours on Facebook

But this murderer isn’t like any they’ve faced before. The murders are highly elaborate, but different in their own way, and with the clock ticking, they need to get inside the killer’s head before it’s too late.

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and L J Ross, Ritual Demise is the seventh book in the Cavendish & Walker crime fiction series.

My Review

Ritual Demise is the seventh in the Cavendish and Walker series but I thoroughly enjoyed it without having read any of the others. It’s a quick, fast-paced read in which seasoned cop DCI Whitney Walker and Forensic Psychologist Georgina ‘George’ Cavendish are on the trail of a serial killer who leaves his victims in staged positions with their heads on a heraldic cushion. What is the meaning of it? Unfortunately I guessed after the second killing (not the heraldic cushion bit but the other link) but that may say more about me than about the book.

George and Whitney’s partnership is one of the best things about the series and I love the banter between them. They are polar opposites and make unusual friends, but that’s so much better than having two Cagney & Lacey female cops. And Pathologist Claire, with her straight talking manner, adds to the fun. Well, if you can call a series of brutal murders ‘fun’.

It’s only the brutality of the murders that stop me from calling it a good romp, a bit in the manner of Midsomer Murders – apologies to the author if she’s not a fan – but it is one of TV’s most popular series ever. And great to see an all female cast of leading characters. I’m looking forward to book 8 though I feel I must read a few of the first ones as well.

Many thanks to @damppebbles for inviting me to part of #damppebblesblogtours

About The Author

Sally Rigby was born in Northampton, in the UK. She has always had the travel bug, and after living in both Manchester and London, eventually moved overseas. From 2001 she has lived with her family in New Zealand (apart from five years in Australia), which she considers to be the most beautiful place in the world. After writing young adult fiction for many years, under a pen name, Sally decided to move into crime fiction. Her Cavendish & Walker series brings together two headstrong, and very different, women – DCI Whitney Walker, and forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish. Sally has a background in education, and has always loved crime fiction books, films and TV programmes. She has a particular fascination with the psychology of serial killers.

Check out her website for a FREE prequel story….. www.sallyrigby.com  

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SallyRigby4

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pg/Sally-Rigby-131414630527848/posts/?ref=page_internal

Website: https://sallyrigby.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sally.rigby.author/

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/3awggm5

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2E3Pa9Y

One Comment on “Ritual Demise by Sally Rigby

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: